Enhancement to GUI

My background is ‘infrastructure as code’ type projects and so my life is made up of identifiers such as GUIDs, MAC addresses, TCPv4 and TCPv6 addresses and lots of magic numbers provided by vendors such as AWS. All of these identifiers are out of my control but often directly map to settings and secrets that I wish to manage.

As it stands it is just about impossible to map these identifiers across to doppler as the system limits the length of a config name to just 15 characters.

Environment names do not have this limitation but instead suffer from 2 other issues I have posted for the consideration list in the past.

• you can not directly clone/copy an environment to create a new one.
  • The GUI is designed to only handle a few environments under a project, too many and you have to scroll the screen left and right to find the environment. This single line of entries is then ordered from oldest to newest, so the environment you have just created is always the hardest to reach.

As an extension of this request, it would also be helpful if a note could be added to a config and for that note to be displayed like a tooltip when the mouse is placed over the config name - all of the above identifiers are a real pain to use without additional hints being available.

Roger

Hi @rit001!

This is an interesting use-case! Doppler’s design is definitely geared more toward deployment environments (e.g., dev, stg, prd). Usually, there are only a handful of these, so the current UI design works well. Your use case seems to be using us more like a database than what we had initially envisioned. Would you mind elaborating some on the types of data you’re storing in these configs? I would imagine much of it is configuration data that could be potentially stored in a database rather than Doppler. Is it SSL certificates or something along those lines? Any additional context you can provide us here would be helpful!