Read secret from file in Docker Compose

Hello, My apologies as I am still learning doppler and docker compose. Is it possible to read doppler secret from a file, possibly fallback file or doppler secrets download? In my docker-compose.yml when using ${Var} it’s grabbing from doppler and works, however I can see the password when looking at the ENV. I would like to keep it out of it. When testing with Docker Swarm the option for secrets is available and can read from /run/secrets, however I will not be using Docker Swarm. I tried dropping the secret file in the directory, but it did not work. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @RayBishopTN!

You might want to take a look at the --mount flag for the doppler run command. Essentially what it does is create a named pipe on the filesystem that acts similar to a file. When something tries reading the pipe, it sends a request to Doppler, fetches the secrets, and sends through for the read. This has the benefit of meaning your secrets are never actually stored on disk. You can also limit the number of reads that can be performed before the pipe is removed. Here’s an example of how it works:

doppler run -p PROJECT -c CONFIG --mount .env --format env -- your-application-executable-here

Keep in mind that you’d need to execute this from inside your containers though since there’s only a single mount file per doppler run. The downside to this is that some applications don’t like named pipes (as an example, I believe python’s dotenv library doesn’t play nice with it), but most applications should work fine with it. Additionally, this will mean every time your container starts it’ll need to make a request to Doppler.

Another option here would be to use our encrypted secret fallback files. You could create one and include it in your Docker image build process as described here and then run your app inside the container using doppler run with the --fallback and --fallback-only flags.

Will either of those work for you?